In which I feel a sense of guilt, and Fin rewrites the Nativity story

Yesterday, I bought myself a Christmas present. Actually, three Christmas presents in the shape of these super Letraset ProMarkers, a black outliner and a vanilla ‘skin-toned’ ProMarker. Despite having a multitude of crafty plans afoot for these bad boys (mostly involving copious amounts of jam-jars and ribbon), I am still feeling extremely guilty about spending this much money on myself in the run up to the festive season. I am trying hard to convince myself that, if I had a social life that didn’t just involve composting or wading up to my knees in dirty bog water in the name of environmental volunteering, I would no doubt be splashing the cash on some snazzy little number to wow everyone at a Christmas party or twelve. Of course, I haven’t been to any party recently that hasn’t involved soft-play, jelly and Ben 10 birthday cakes, but that’s by-the-by.

Not my own work. Not nearly slapdash enough.

Not my own work. Not nearly slapdash enough.

 

In other news, this afternoon is the nursery nativity.

Scarface may, or may not, have a speaking part. He is a wise man. There are eight wise persons in this particular production of the nativity, including three Wise Ladies. He might say ‘myrrh’, if he can be bothered. He might not actually make it onto the stage at all.

If he does keep his temper under control for long enough to make it from the nursery classroom to the hall without any of the keyworkers needing a Rabies shot, proud mummy apparently has a seat reserved right at the front nearest the stage stairs so that mini Richard Burton can be gently but forcibly evicted from the stage should he start fighting, unwrapping the baby Jesus’ gifts, or singing ‘Jingle Bells, Batman smells, Robin laid an egg’ at the top of his voice whilst Gabriel announces the impending birth of the Messiah.

This morning he was practising being a wise man. Resplendent in cornflake covered dressing gown and George Pig pyjamas, he stomped imperiously around the living room whilst humming an off-key rendition of the Imperial March as I sat looking pious with a teatowel on my head impersonating Mary. He then delivered the line Luke decided to leave out of the New Testament.

‘I AM YOUR FATHER’

As one of my Facebook chums pointed out – “Join me, and together we will rule the galaxy as father and son…”

Hmmm.

Hmmm.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “In which I feel a sense of guilt, and Fin rewrites the Nativity story

  1. Heather says:

    LOVE IT!!! LOL Go Ellis, I think he’s a very wise wee man ;))

    Beautiful jam jars. As for the guilt – eugh that’s ugly. Let it go darling, doesn’t match your dress. How can planning to do good, gorgeous things ever be a bad thing? Building a collection of things you will use in crafting is expensive in the beginning but once you have a bulging horde of goodies stashed lovingly they generally last for AGES… you’ll get more than your money’s worth. And, because you’re brilliant, they’ll also inspire you to try new things and get your mojo on in ways that wouldn’t happen if you didn’t have ‘stuff’ at your disposal. Happy Friday xx

  2. I like the way you think ;0)

  3. LOL. I hope the holy infant emerged unscathed!

  4. ..and thanks very much for adding me to your blogroll. I haven’t got very far with mine, but I am following yours!

Leave a Reply

